Short stories and tall tales

In a slightly different way from the ‘nights out’ thread, this forum is a great source of anecdotes going back over the years, it would be good to hear some of them.

I’ll start - I did some agency work at SP Tyres in Maidstone, which I think was owned by Dunlop. The foreman there (once he found out I was a class 1 driver ‘slumming it’ on a four wheeler) was very fond of telling me about his owner driver son, and how he would help him maintain his unit, which was I believe a high spec Merc.

Every day he would regale me with the details of what he’d been up to, until one Monday when he was quiet nd didn’t seem keen to talk about it any more.

I later found out that his son had a portable TV on the bunk, and that the old man had tilted the cab…

Bender:
I later found out that his son had a portable TV on the bunk, and that the old man had tilted the cab….

I sold a Transcontinental to lad who did UK / Greece. He was tipping somewhere in Greece and asked if her could borrow their steam-cleaner, which he did. Tilted the cab and was steaming the engine off…Lot’s of steam…which meant he couldn’t see the cab on fire…he’d left his portable stove on … :blush:

If memory serves, she died there…in Peace…in Greece…!! RIP one Transconi… :unamused: :unamused:

An old mate of mine drove a Leyland Boxer skip truck for a while. He picked it up after it had been in the workshop one day, went down the hill to the traffic lights, hit the brakes and the cab tipped with him in it…