Safe loading of Steel Coils

Hello, after hearing so much abou this forum, i have finnaly decided to join.

I have been driing for a few years now, and on Monday i will be coming across my first load of Steel Coils from Cardiff.

To be fair these scare me a little bit, due to the in -experience i have with loading and securing them properly.

im just after some pro help as to how to trap these in, t will be a full load of 27ton, and each coil will be aprox 2.2ton.

Many Thanks

What you loading them onto? Does it have coil wells and posts?

Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk

na pal, will be loading on to a normal C/S onto wood bearers

Pm sent.

Why reply only by pm :confused:

If you have advise on loading/securing a particular type of load why not post openly so anyone else who’s interested can learn from your experience and take part in the discussion.

This is after-all a discussion forum :wink:

The company you are loading from will dictate how they are secured, they have proven and tested methods and I doubt you will get out of the gate. If you are pulling for a company like ferrymasters they also have an agreed method with the customer.

But I agree that unless the information is of a slanderous or financial nature it should be shared on the public forum for discussion.

I can see the logic in bazstan sending a PM, there are a number of " holier than thou " so called experts on this forum just waiting to pull to pieces any information put forward. So leave the guy alone, he made the right decision.

I wille in the same place on monday!! For the same thing. Make sure you fill with diesel before you get in, as the last time I was in there I came out with 30kgs to spare and only had a 1/4 tank of diesel.

On straping them down, diffrant drivers do them their own way. I tend to use one ■■■■■■■■ the first 4 singles, pulling forward. Double straping the doubles with one strap pulling each way. Depending on where they are going you may have to sheet them aswell.