Road Tax

Howya lads?
Newbie here from ireland. I’ve just received my road tax renewal form, from the council. I drive an 8x4 tipper/grab and the road tax for the year comes to a whopping 3198euro. :open_mouth: I’m just wondering if it’s as expensive over in England as it is here. I’m a one man show and feel like we’re just being constantly told to bend over and smile, be it by the government or by the law. I’ve been a trucker for the past 16yrs and an owner driver for the past 9yrs and due to the lack of work at the moment, i’m seriously considering leaving the industry altogether. I mean, tell me of another occupation where you’re forever looking over your shoulder, wondering if the police/vosa are going to pull you over and screw you. We must have the most persecuted of proffesions. I feel that we’re treated like criminals. Anyway, just felt like having a good moan. Take care lads. :smiling_imp:

busyboy:
Howya lads?
Newbie here from ireland. I’ve just received my road tax renewal form, from the council. I drive an 8x4 tipper/grab and the road tax for the year comes to a whopping 3198euro.

how much :exclamation: :open_mouth: :open_mouth: 3,198 euros for a years tax :exclamation: :exclamation: :exclamation: :exclamation: :exclamation: :exclamation: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: bloody hell the highways agency could pave the M25 in gold if we payed that for a years road tax :exclamation: :laughing: :laughing:

It doesn’t leave me with much for my yorkies and mars bars. :cry:

busyboy:
tell me of another occupation where you’re forever looking over your shoulder, wondering if the police/vosa are going to pull you over and screw you. We must have the most persecuted of proffesions. I feel that we’re treated like criminals. Anyway, just felt like having a good moan. Take care lads. :smiling_imp:

I’ve never felt like that. Perhaps you should try not running bent, overloaded or driving a shed - any combination of which seems to be the norm over there.