Passed C+E JUST NEEDMY FIRST JOB

Hi all im new to the list I used to be a train driver but seems overhead cables caused me severe headaches! so I had to quit train driving.
Driving is what i have done since i was 18 So I decided to become a wannabe trucker i passed cat c about 18months ago but found it hard to get a start with any agencies as they all wanted 2 years driving experience, so i decided to go for the big C+E and try to get a start that way the test was quite a task but i got through it,
If anyone has any tips on how to get a start id be glad to hear from you perhaps you know a company that takes on new drivers after all everyone has to start somwhere
thanx in advance John

Try again with the agencies, it’s coming to the “busy” period so you might have more luck…

You’re first year is likely to be difficult with employment though I guess your age will be on your side. There are firms that take on inexperienced drivers but imo it’s often ■■■■ work for a ■■■■ company, but it is experience.

I think HGV 1 driving is going to be an eye opener for you, it’s not the cushy life you’re used to, neither does it pay near so much… but I guess you know that

Best of luck, and welcome…

Congratulations on the tests passes
and welcome to TruckNet UK also
good luck finding work :smiley:

Hi thanx for the welcome!
I know im probably not going to earn as much trucking as i did on the trains but at the end of the day I like driving and its not just the money you work for you need to be a little bit happy as well no point doing a job if your not happy I think if I had to take an office job id be bored stiff my plan for this week is to cantact all the agencies again and post as many application requests as I can lets see if it works this time round

I got wires coming in and wires coming out :stuck_out_tongue:

Welcome to the electronic cafe.

Some of the tales on here are shocking though :smiley: