Out of Hours - nearly weekended

Was on the ferry back from Northern Ireland to Stranraer yesterday. As it was the slow 3 hour crossing I got my diary out and was totalling up my hours for the week. I then noticed that I had 15 minutes driving time left til my fortnightly 90 hours was up. It’s a 3 hour drive back to our yard from the ferryport.

So I gets on the blower before we get away from land and lose a mobile reception and tells the boss. You’ll be alright. It’s only 3 hours over he says. Didn’t have time to argue as the reception was crap so said goodbye. For the whole crossing I was wondering what to do. Do I drive it and hope there’s no come-back or do I put my foot down and say no, I’m not going to risk getting caught. I’m not very good at sticking up for myself and causing a fuss, but I thought, “this time I’m gonna stick up for myself. It’s my license”

As we reach the West coast of Scotland and my reception came back I phoned the boss again and told him I wasn’t going to risk it what did he want me to do. “You’ll only get ifined if you get caught” he says. To which I reply “If I’m in an accident regardless of whose fault and there’s a fatality/someone is badly hurt I’m gonna get my tachos inspected.” My boss hums and haws for a minute then says he’ll call me back.