Ltd. Co. writing a contract.

Hi, My situation is I’ve been an agency driver for ages and have recently been considering making myself Ltd. and contact a few folks I’ve worked for before and got on with. Not talking about Nova, Umbrella Paye Co’s etc. like my agency has recently been pushing me towards.
Well company I worked for just rang me and asked if I want to come back minus the agency and invoice them. (I left that agency a while back)
It’s nice seasonal hiab multi drop work that makes for a nice summer gig.
It’s a small father and son co. with a one truck yard.
Got a meeting with them next week to arrange it.

My question is, he may well have a contract and we just decide the hourly rate, but he might expect me to draw up a contract. Even if not I’d like to know for any other jobs I might land

If so, where do I start? what should be on it? can I find a template/standard one?

What about if I have an accident in their truck?

Thanks for any pointers.

welcome Loooo :smiley:
I think you want THIS forum

A good starting point is an agency contract as you are in many respects simply going to be a one man agency. I based mine on the terms of business of one of the agencies I have worked for that was on the back of the timesheets I filled in. This included all the important stuff including (but not limited to) clauses saying the client is responsible for ensuring that suitable vehicle, employer’s liability and public liability insurances are in place during the contract, and also saying that you accept no responibility if you mess up and end up costing them money.

Obviously there’s quite a bit more to it than that but if the person who plans to take you on has used you via agency before then they might well still have a copy of the agency’s contract on file which they might let you have and tweak to suit.

Paul

Thanks Rog, have pasted it over there.

Thanks Repton, yeah, I suspect they’ll do it on the same terms as the agency I was on. Thanks for the info.