Its not workin.

Hello, I have posted this to ask for some of your much valued advice, I have been running wagons for a few years now and like allot of other hauliers at the moment i regret to say that i am begining to find things are getting pretty tough. It does have to be said that i went into the whole thing on a "wing and a prayer"and as i am sure i will be told thats not the way to do it. Having more, ■■■■■■■■ than brains, is nt always a good thing. I would appreciate it if i could PM somebody as its more about the financial side of things rather than the workload that i need some pointers on. I am based in yorkshire and run artics pulling steel and fridges. Many thanks.

■■ pm away

we are all here to help if we can, so theres no harm in asking

Cue Rob.

Ken.

I’d be glad to offer advice, I also carry steel

Steve

One simple thing that you need to remember is costs, sounds like a silly statement, but it’s not. In today’s market you really cannot do anything about rates, they are what they are and what they are is crap, for the most part anyway, unless you’re in a niche market you are pretty much governed by the cheapest competitor out there, but one thing you can control is your operating costs, look through your paperwork and identify where every penny you spend goes, eliminate all unnecessary payments and try to reduce or eliminate everything that attracts an interest payment, maximise the efficiency of your lorries and drivers, can you go out on the road yourself and run things from the cab so you save on a wage? The list goes on and on, but really it all boils down to how well you know your business, you should know where every penny goes and why it goes there :wink:

are you mechanically minded? asin, who does your servicin, inspections and minor repairs?

if you are paying someone else to do it, learn yourself! i can guarantee, your labour rates are cheaper than your mechanics :wink: