I am a newbee looking for answers

hi,

i am a new driver, i’ve had my class2 for just over a year now and will soon be going for my class1 when i get the time off work :smiley: . as my job is now i’m driving a 7.5 tonne(we do use 17 tonners but as the building sites we deliver to are getting smaller the company is getting rid of them and keeping to 7.5’s) i’ve been with them for just over a year same as my licence really. there are a few things that i would like clarifying if you could help me?

1. When i’m delivering i do put my mode switch to other work(i’m not trying the law or my licence!!!) so do i stop my timer?(i use one of those kitchen timers as mentioned on here before) or do i leave the timer running? because as i see it im not actually driving and therefore my driving time shouldn’t be affected i will still take my legal breaks i wont count the time on other work towards my break.

2.if i drive 30 mins and i feel im getting tired, i pull over for a kip, i sleep well over 45 mins lets say i’m there for 55 mins then i get going again. do i after driving for 4 hours(thus meaning driving time 4.5 hrs) stop for a 15 min break just to show the split between driving times, or because i’ve actually stopped and rested for my 45 mins can i just carry on until my 9 hours are up and just continue normally?

3.how many tachographs am i legally allowed to carry in my cab? as i read on your website about night outs some say we need to use 3 charts and some say 1 so is there an illegal limit about carrying them in our cabs?

4.i drive an x-reg daf because it was registered before the ruling about seat belts it is not fitted with one. am i allowed to refuse to drive it or request one fitted or because it is outside of the ruling have i not got a case? the thing is i had a crash where i hit the w/screen and am quite nervous when not wearing a belt now so i’m quite concerned on knowing this?

Giddy:
hi,