+E reverse practice

Hi went for an assessment with Ritchies in Glasgow today, I had decided to go with them anyway as I’ve decide to have a 5 day course which for an extra £100 I will get a full 35hrs CPC pass or fail.

Anyhoo I wanted to take a drive in an artic to see what it was like compared to the 18 ton rigid I learned in. I have no trailer experience whatsoever never had the need or the inclination. I know the theory is to steer the opposite way to the direction you want the trailer to move in.

The instructor said my driving was fine and personally I found it not much different from the rigid but thought I would struggle with the reversing. I never had any problems with reversing the rigid but I was only able to do it on the artic with full instruction. My course is not set for a few weeks would taking some practice with car and a small trailer be any use to me or is it just too different for an artic trailer.

I will give you a little advice now, just dont worry about the reversing it will click into place after the first couple of days!! trust me!! if you look back over my thread you will see i struggled with the reverse but mastered it after the 1st few days. There’s a technique to it and only with practice and working it out in your head you will find it. Small amounts of steering is the key, you will be supprised how much of a little turn will bend that trailer around. And at any time if your unsure how much the trailer has bended just turn the steering wheel to the direction where you see the most tralier in your mirror and the trailer will straighten up! Anyway you will see when you start training, dont worry it will come good.

Did you find that driving the artic was a much nicer drive and basically all round a better lorry to drive than the rigid? I loved driving the artic, drove miles better than the rigid i learnt in.

goodluck and all the best. :smiley: