Dedicated follower of fashion . . . what should i wear?

Hopefully not such as daft question and i’m certainly not the most vain of people ( i cant be with my ugly mug :sunglasses: ) , but i’ve got my tuition starting in about a weeks time and i’m not really sure what is considered the rights and wrongs of shoes / boots for driving.

Is there a general acceptance that you should really wear boots ? should they be steelies / re-inforced are trainers a no-no ? etc etc

thanks,

Don

As most work places these days insist on safety boots/shoes I would suggest you get used to driving with whichever one of those is your preferred choice. Learning wearing trainers then switching to heavier steelies could have an adverse affect on your driving for a period as you adjust.

mmmm i agree with coffeeholic i am a new driver the 1st day i wore my safety doc marten boots, but did have trouble with the bite 1st day in a rigid, so wore my trainers, great no prob, also i checked an was ok 4 my tests, but then when you go to work different story, no hi-viz & no safety footwear an its goodbye!, but i solved the problem i got some great comfy safety trainers my ankle moves much better an i am used to the pedal feel now. a bit of a pain to have some cabwear which you will have to change every time you get out the cab! :stuck_out_tongue:

As you are just starting your training then wear the boots or shoes or trainers that you are most comfortable in and are what you are used to driving in.

It is hard enough getting used to a different vehicle and all the other tuff that goes along with trucker training without having to worry about if your feet are comfortable of not.

When you have passed your test then is the time to worry about whether you have to wear steelies or riggers or not.
Your instructor and the examiner will not be worried about what is on your feet - only the way you will be handling the vehicle.
Good luck on the taining and let us know how you get on.