DCPC research

There seems to be a lot of negativity towards this course and i can sympathies with that to a degree. Could you all put in what courses you think the 7 hours should cover. remember it has to last a minimum of 7 hours, has to be industry related and cost effective to trainer and company.

I ask because i am a trainer as you may know and as stated i take my job seriously and want drivers to enjoy their day and actually get something out of it.

please don’t use this thread as a slag off DCPC as there is already 100’s of those :laughing:

I think that the Dcpc should give drivers skills that they currently do not have. We should be trained on things like

ADR
QUAP (I bet I’ve spelt that wrong but I mean the fork lifts :blush: )
Hiabs
And useful stuff like a good understanding of London Lorry Control etc…

I hope this helps

I don’t really care what it covers but I don’t want to have to do courses I am not interested in, I don’t want to learn new work stuff at this stage of my life.

ADR - not interested in doing that or carrying it.

Fork-lifts - Not interested in being qualified to drive one, it’s just Go-kart driving with a bit of Tetris thrown in anyway.

Hiabs - again not interested in using one. Seems like unnecessary work to me, let other folk unload the vehicle and I’ll just drive it, no point me doing someone out of a job.

I’ll happily just do the same course 5 times if necessary. In fact if I don’t change job I will be doing the course I did last Friday again in 2013 so that’ll be good because I enjoyed it.

Incidentally, this topic has been covered on a few threads already in the last couple of years.

EDIT. I’ve changed my mind. If there is a course that teaches how to type ‘the’ every time instead of ‘teh’ I’ll do that one. It’ll take me at least teh, I mean the, 7 hours to learn how to do that. :wink:

I’ve tried sitting on my hands, it hasn’t worked. I haven’t got anything constructive to add, so…
imagesCAL4PGA2.jpg