Advice needed.

Hello chaps.

I’ve been lurking on this forum for a couple months and thought now is the time to ask for some advice.

I currently work as a warehouse man for a large supermarket and I’ve always wanted to become a hgv driver. I used to deliver online shopping in vans, loved the job as I was out on my own but hated the company. I’m currently in the process of obtaining my class 1, just passed the hazard/theory/cpc tests and about to book my class 2 practical lessons.

My current employer has offered me a job as a class 1 driver on nights once im qualified. my question is, am I stupid to turn the offer down and look elsewhere as nights wouldn’t be my 1st choice or am I silly as it’s a great opportunity to gain experience. Also just to add me and the wife just had our 1st child. Thanks for any advice given.

Matt.B:
Hello chaps.

I’ve been lurking on this forum for a couple months and thought now is the time to ask for some advice.

I currently work as a warehouse man for a large supermarket and I’ve always wanted to become a hgv driver. I used to deliver online shopping in vans, loved the job as I was out on my own but hated the company. I’m currently in the process of obtaining my class 1, just passed the hazard/theory/cpc tests and about to book my class 2 practical lessons.

My current employer has offered me a job as a class 1 driver on nights once im qualified. my question is, am I stupid to turn the offer down and look elsewhere as nights wouldn’t be my 1st choice or am I silly as it’s a great opportunity to gain experience. Also just to add me and the wife just had our 1st child. Thanks for any advice given.

Baby is going to be an issue whether you work days or nights because for some reason they refuse to have night only sleep hours :laughing:

Seeing the wife time is likely to be the same either way
made up simple perhaps silly examples
sleep 9pm to 5am
work 6am to 7pm
or
work 9pm to 10am
sleep 11am to 7pm