ADR in 2020. Is it worth it?

Afternoon all.

I’m considering going for my class 3 ADR. But I’m wondering weather its a worthwhile investment. I carried out a search in the forum and found a topic from 2007 which pretty much came to the conclusion that it’s not really worth it.

But what about now? Is it worth it? I’ve seen wages ranging from £29k to over £40k (Avonmouth)

Currently I am a Class 1 driver based in Bristol with a fair few years experience on a Pallet distribution network and I fancy a bit of a change. My main motivation for going for the ADR would be the money. But would I earn that much more? I’m currently on £28100.

Any advice would be great. I would especially like to hear from drivers who currently work on the tankers for some feedback.

Cheers

It wasn’t…

Worth it to me 15-20 years ago on the agency circuit. Not one agency offered higher rates for doing ADR work so I figured what was the point. The one agency ADR guy I did meet said he refused to do ADR work because A; he didn’t get any more money and B; he was often on the subs bench in case a regular ADR man blobbed.

The way I see it, unless you’ve gotta tanker job lined up paying good money, it’s not worth the hassle.

The place I agency at… The ADR boys get to go gallivanting around Europe. Whilst us normal drivers do UK work.

But they are on a day rate which is lower than our minimum rate for UK work. So they always earn more money.

I’d like to have it to do a little Euro work. But I wouldn’t want to be regularly earning less because I’d paid for the ticket.

Adr near me (yorkshire and humber regions) is not much more than a pound and hour, two if you’re lucky. You’ll pay your course back within about 3- 4 months, but you’re never gonna be on mega money unless you’re very lucky.

My intention is to get some adr experience, then aim for the fuel tankers. Plenty of that type of work near me. But even then, from what I’ve found, you’re talking 15ish.