ADR is it worth it?

So ice had a good two years experience doing versions roles driving. Some of which has been refuelling aircraft. Oddly enough due to this being on a private airfield you don’t need an ADR so the company doesn’t go to the expense of putting you through it.

Here’s the question.
Is it worth getting and ADR in either fuel tanks or gases. Where I live there seems to many jobs coming up that transport gas cylinders. More so than fuel, wages always seem to be around £12 plus an hour which really appeals to me. As I’ve had some experience of dealing and moving fuel they can’t feed me that bollox about not having an experience?!?!

I’ve looked around and been quoted around £700 to do a 5 day ADR in either with an exam on the Friday. Is it a waste of my own money or is it worth it?
Thanks in advance gents

700 quid? :open_mouth:
That’s way over the top…

It probably depends where you live and what’s around you pal, I’ve a refinery near me so more than it’s fair share of ADR work.
As for bottles, is that class 2 work as I suspect that’s going to be pretty physical work.

Call my office, quote your Trucknet name and pay just £450 all in.

… and there’s 28hrs of cpc to be had as well!

Pete :laughing: :laughing:

Evil8Beezle:
700 quid? :open_mouth:
That’s way over the top…

It probably depends where you live and what’s around you pal, I’ve a refinery near me so more than it’s fair share of ADR work.
As for bottles, is that class 2 work as I suspect that’s going to be pretty physical work.

I thought £700 was very steep to which prompted me to ask on here. Yes we have a BOC plant down near me & calogas that always seem to be after drivers with this type of ADR. Pretty heavy going I’m sure with the bottles but if it pays well I might bend my back :slight_smile:
Cheers

Peter Smythe:
Call my office, quote your Trucknet name and pay just £450 all in.

… and there’s 28hrs of cpc to be had as well!

Where are you based Peter?