A bit of info

I’m relatively new to class 1 driving and up until now have had no problems :unamused: I just want to know (with the threat of people calling me daft now!) my unit is a merc axor with an axle I can lift up, and all our trailers are tri axles!! I’ve read on here people describing things as 6x2 and 4x2 etc etc… I really am baffled as to where i should place pallets because the other day I took some 1 ton pallets and was wondering where the hell to put them? (I did spead them out evenly) where are my driving axles I’ve heard you lot talk about etc etc… so if someone could lay it out in a simplified way I would be very greatful :smiley: I’m also waiting for the ones calling me different things lol :blush: :blush:

Forgive me for being a little blunt but I think you should be doing a little homework on driving HGVs and the legal responsibilities before you go any further.

Driving a HGV without knowing the very basics is asking for trouble,if you dont know how to load a truck safely and legally now is stupidity.

You have gained your HGV ,dont throw it away .VOSA will not be bothered whether you are new to the job or not if your caught overloading axles.Dont learn the hard way.

Would have thought it was pretty much common sense which was the drive axle ? Or do not all truck drivers have basic mechanical knowledge.

It really is quite worrying when someone who is trusted with such a dangerous piece of machinery does not have any knowledge about how what he’s driving actually works :confused:
(sounds a bit like my sister who despite driving cars for 15+years told me she thought putting her rear fog lights on made the headlights brighter)

Giddy: