1st time with auto box. Advice needed

Next week doing a week for Bibbys. Been told it is an 08 plate rigid but not sure what type. Might be MAN. Has an auto box, which I have never used before.
Are they ‘idiot proof’ & just a question of selecting correct mode (auto) and of you go. Have been told to use manual when crawling in traffic & avoid auto reverse as it takes off a bit. !!!

I realise not all autos are the same, but would appreciate any pointers/advice etc. Thanks :wink:

Piece of you know what.

Select drive or reverse depending on what you wanna do.

Reversing think its more to do with the fact people reversing a manual are using the clutch to help control the speed of reversing, with no clutch people end up juddering it, its just a case of getting used to it.

Manual in traffic i depends i guess on how heavy you are and how good the automatic is, found sometimes with MAN when its heavy selects wrong gears at times, but generally not a problem.

On MAN/ERF it is a knob in the middle which you twist. You have N, D and R with a picture of a tortoise next to the D and R which mean crawler for D and crawler for R. When reversing select the tortoise next to R and it won’t shoot off like a rocket. Don’t bother using manual in traffic.

On Volvo it is a gear knob attached to the seat. From front to back is Reverse, Neutral, Auto, Manual. On the right of the gear knob is a button for up/down in manual. At rear of selector bit is a square with E/P on. Press it when you’re going up hill and it’ll go into “Power” mode and allow you to rev higher before changing gear. You’'ll see a “P” on the dashboard where the “E” was.

Renault. All done on a stalk on the right of the steering column. Can’t remember OTTOMH how you select reverse with that one.

youll probably have 2 settings for reverse, normal and one with a turtle next to it, thats the slow reverse, use it if you need to.