From engineer to C+E newbie - my 3 first month's experience

Inspired by the ‘falling interest in TNUK’, I thought I would share my experience as a new starter to the trucking world. I am a regular browser of the forum, but alas have little to contribute as a newbie.

Who knows, maybe this is useful to other potential new starters – maybe it is just the waffling of a naive newbie to the world many of you have inhabited for decades. Regardless, it turned out quite lengthy - apologies.

My background is in engineering, and I have run teams of engineers with Jaguar Land Rover and a niche Hypercar company most recently. Reaching 50 this year, I have wanted to pack in the politics, stress, hyper-competitive environments and the overall feeling that I am just building things of little value to society, just to sell to the wealthy.

So, in August, I self funded my C+E and passed my tests in the first week of September. My only experience of trucks prior was the occasional 7.5t hire when moving house, and a couple of hours driving an artic round an airfield.

I do consider all driving to be a skill, one that can continually be improved upon and mistakes learned from. I passed my advanced car and motorbike tests previously, and I think these helped me when moving up to the large stuff.

So, September was a happy day with a freshly minted licence, and a complete lack of awareness of how little I actually knew.

I decided early on that the best way for me to get experience would be in at the deep end, via an agency, and going to whatever various jobs I could to broaden my skills. I am fortunate, in that I have earned good money over my career and have a relatively light set of family bills left to service.

This meant I could be rather choosy in what shifts I did, and so I currently only do Monday to Friday days, with the odd Sunday overtime when needed.