Double Manning - Feet on Dash

Hello,

I’m a relatively new driver doing double manning/night trunking.

My experienced colleague likes to sleep with his feet up on the dash whilst I’m driving.

His legs block the lower down wide angle mirror which is kind of more useful at night because marker lights are more visible in that one and there is a white light on the back that shines on the road. Also the left corner of the windscreen is a bit obscured which kind of makes it harder to judge how far things are from left corner when do manoeuvres, I know there is a mirror up there but I feel like it reduces visibility too much. This manoeuvres are already challenging for me.

Do many drivers do this on long trips? Should I say something or try to get used to it? Though he probably won’t like it.

Bit worried about alienating myself as he is helping me learn the job.

What would people do if they were in my boat? Do many people do this when they are not driving?

Thanks.

If my passenger put their feet up on my dash they’d be getting a heavy object interfacing with their kneecaps. It’s a no no.

the maoster:
If my passenger put their feet up on my dash they’d be getting a heavy object interfacing with their kneecaps. It’s a no no.

Totally agree.
But theenme are not newbies any more. :smiley:

For the OP remember that although it is easier to get on with other workers, they aren`t all going to become our best buddies.

Ask nicely for him to remove his feet.
If he doesnt then youve got (as a newbie) a problem, but you do need to make a firm point.
Dont put up with "second best" regards your vision when youre driving.

the maoster:

Tell him that if you were to crash then his kneecaps would likely be going through his eye sockets.

Tell him to move his feet, don’t be sheepish about it. There’s no way I’m driving with compromised vision.

Plus, how’s he supposed to be coaching you on the road if he’s asleep?