George Allison Transport, Darlington. Insufficient notice

Seen this on one of the HGV job groups on Facebook. Apparently, a worker, after 1 week decided a job wasn’t for him and left. The firm, George Allinson Transport deducted £600 for insufficient notice, leaving him with less than £9 for a full weeks work.

A screen shot of the alleged wage slip is attached.

Small Claims Court with that one with £500 added on. Allinson’s have been a notoriously dishonest company for as long as I’ve been a truck driver.

If that’s kosher it’ll be the worst £600 balls up that company ever made.
The publicity alone will reverberate for years to come within the ranks of drivers looking for work.

Pretty sure this violates minimum wage laws as well

They "may " be within their rights if the worker had signed a company policy document before starting work . Just saying "maybe " I spoke to one of the yard foremen one day while loading to see if there was anyway I could use their wash to give my truck a clean - I was told no and then that he was nearly sacked for suggesting that the yard staff could do with a pay rise .
I got the impression every pound was / is a prisoner which would lead me to beleive this sort of thing would be well covered in their terms and conditions .

beefy4605:
They "may " be within their rights if the worker had signed a company policy document before starting work . Just saying "maybe " I spoke to one of the yard foremen one day while loading to see if there was anyway I could use their wash to give my truck a clean - I was told no and then that he was nearly sacked for suggesting that the yard staff could do with a pay rise .
I got the impression every pound was / is a prisoner which would lead me to beleive this sort of thing would be well covered in their terms and conditions .

Would depend on the legality of it really. Contracts are basically worthless of they aren’t legal to begin with.

As Harry says above, probably a case for the small claims court.