Should i do my car and trailer training before i do class 1?

Or should i just go straight for my class 1 licence?

Currently have my class 2 and want to get class 1, is it worth my while doing my b+e to get used to how to reverse with a trailer?

Would maybe give me an advantage before doing class 1 or just go straight into class 1?

Absolutely no advantage whatsoever, in my humble opinion [emoji106]

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk

stuwozere1:

Why is that mate?

Just thought the reversing would be a lot easier to get my head around

I have never used a trailer before

I can see why you might think it’s a good idea. But a good trainer will have no difficulty taking you from C to CE.

You might want to check out the Darren Shaw Offer at the top of the threads.

Pete :laughing: :laughing:

adammur:

stuwozere1:

Why is that mate?

Just thought the reversing would be a lot easier to get my head around

I have never used a trailer before

Firstly it’s only my opinion, but I feel that manoeuvring a 13m trailer that’s highly visible and less erratic is totally different to reversing a 2m trailer that is far far more reactionary to your movement of the steering wheel. Good luck with your Class 1 [emoji106]

Agree, you’d be wasting your time and money doing the car one.

Artic trailers are very different beasts to the horse box on the back of a car as they react a lot slower so you have to think further ahead. Bit like driving a supertanker (truck) vs a speedboat (car).

Reversing in the test is more about remembering when to turn and a ballet of manoeuvres (frilly skirt optional) which they’ll teach you.

Reversing in the real world is totally different but you’ll learn that too while earning money, especially as it depends on trailer and truck combos of which there are loads of combinations. Bit like a horsebox is different to a caravan to a tiny Halfords trailer (nightmare).

Oh and no one upon no one is good at it from day 1 whatever they tell you. :smiley: