Quit my job and become a trucker?

I am seriously thinking of quitting my job as a postman and becoming a trucker and possibly tramping. I have been in contact with a haulage firm near to where I live and they said I can do a apprentice scheme with them where they pay for my class 1 (as I already have a class 2) and I pay them back out of my payslip over 3 years which I have to stay with them for. I enjoy driving a lot and I don’t think that sleeping in a truck would bother me much. does anyone have any advice or extra information that they can share? also how much can I expect to be paid? Ive heard about £120 a day including night out allowance. thanks guys

This will answer some questions for you without too many having another rant :wink:
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=128418

are you a trucker then? do u enjoy it?

jaustin:

well, I was a trucker, then left now going back into it.

I’ve done tramping over Europe.

All jobs have good and bad in them but I LOVE IT, I miss it dearly and am so happy to be going back to it now.

At the end of the day no one can tell you if it’s something you will love or not. Sounds like a good thing in theory what this haulage company is offering you, if you have done the calculations and you are ok with it all then go for it, what have you to lose? ok you will lose the postie job, don’t know much about that ie: priviliges/salary/etc and whether you would ‘suffer’ from dropping out of it or not, you will know though hopefully won’t you? can you get back to being a postie quite easily if you want to in future?

If you’ve got a class 2 licence, why don’t you simply approach the employer, would be an easier way to get ya class one, only down side its how long they might tie you to them for.