Assessment... I think.. Start Monday...!

I passed my cat C on 15th Oct and only got my licence back yesterday(5 weeks). A mix up and lack of communication between DSA and DVLA.
I was chomping at the bit to start my CE training but could not because no licence, anyway i was just about to go book my CE course and saw a job advertised for experienced class 2 driver. It’s a permanent position, no agencies. I called up expecting to be told to go away as I have no experience and only just passed my test.
I just rambled for a while and said let me come for an assessment, shunting or whatever, the result is I was asked to go and see him tomorrow at 12…!
So I dont know what I’ll be doing, formal interview, assessment, washing the cups up etc…

They have a few scania rigids and I want to know what sort of gearboxes they are, and how to use them…!
I’ve only used range change, with a switch on the gear stick…

Thanks…

What size scania rigids ■■ - if 18 tonners then a straight 6 is possible or a range change like you did when training which could be 4 over 4 or 3 over 3 - if 3 over 3 please don’t do what I kept doing - going for 4th in low !!! :laughing: :laughing:

you’ll easy handle the gearbox and if different from above then the assessor will put you right - they may expect you to ask though so don’t be shy or try to bluff it.

Thanks Rog…

Just sussed a range change box is 3 over 3 or 4 over 4…! :blush:

I would not try and BLUFF it …

Be totaly honest as a new driver they are giving you a chance by means of an assesment be 100% Honest.

Thanks for the replys…

Well, I turned up at 10 to 12, had a smoke and went in…

I was asked to fill in an application and wait. A few minutes later I’m taken to another room and told Maxine would be along shortly…and she was.