Three Years as a new driver. What to expect

So I have been driving class 2 for three years and thought I would put a post up about my experience as this forum was a big help to me and provided me with a wealth of knowledge, Its mainly about what new drivers should expect compared to how they think it will work out.

The first big thing is try not to expect mega bucks because without earning your stripes you don’t get it.

I have had to graft my ■■■ off to get to where I am in my current company, don’t get me wrong I have loved every minute of it but its been a slog.

I started out doing Random same day deliveries all over the country with my current company, in a 61 plate 7.5 tonner with just shy of 500,000 on the clock in all kinds of weather and at all different times of the day in wind, rain, sleet and snow.
There can be a lot of handballing with this kind of work but there is equal amounts of A to B work straight load and unload. When I say handballing too I don’t mean just shuffling cages or pallets around I mean picking up hundreds of boxes of aircargo from a airport and having to load them all by hand then unload them at the other end, don’t get me wrong some customers will help you but some just simply aren’t bothered.

The way I seen it when I was starting out, was I either took the job that required physical graft and got paid a OKish wage or I did easy work with low pay. Doing this work based on a 40-50 hour week I Usually took home around £350 after tax per week.

Also when I was looking for my first job trucking I went to a few job interviews. Some I wasn’t keen on the job and some I was, so in the end I picked the job that suited me best, my advice would be always go to the interview even if you are unsure of the job as it is good practice. I also stayed clear of agencies,I found they would advertise a good job, get you in, take your details and then offer you something totally different and utterly [zb].