Getting itch to set up on own

Hi guys a it of a newbie. I’m a third generation trucker so got some experience going out with my dad. Live in north east uk. And getting itch to start up on my own is it worth the risk.
I’m thinking of getting the study papers for transport manager cpc and going from there

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=144113
Read this>get at least a couple of years driving experience>read again>if in any doubt walk away.

seriously just give it a good scratch and it will go away.

Obtaining an Operator’s CPC can only ever be a good thing to do, it’s a professional qualification. As for running a truck, that may or may not be a good thing to do, it depends on a lot of factors including both hard work and luck. Eddie Stobart started with one truck.

Best advice I could give to an aspiring OD is “Make sure you always have an escape route”. It would be an awful thing to have your home repossessed because you had financed your truck against it and you were knocked by your main customer.

I did it for four years, and I earned a reasonable living at it, but not enough more than an employed driver to make it worth replacing the truck when it needed replacing. I don’t regret doing it though, not for a New York minute.

It will work for some and wont for others. Working for yourself though is what its about, not being a slave to an employer lining their pockets when you could be lining your own.All i can say is that i now make more money than ive ever done in my life…

The only thing I would need to consider is what type of work I would do. Where I live theres tee sport which if clever could provide good income. There boc tankers/ container work also and loads of small firms to and the famous Wilton site to

Teesport will provide a regular income for an owner driver but you wont make good money on containers, by the time everyones had there bite theres not much left

chaversdad: