Looking for information on owner driving, starting on my own

Hi there. I’m a 26 year old driver wanting to work for myself. I have thought long and hard about becoming an owner driver and going self employed. I’m currently working for a removal firm and I know it might sound like I don’t have a clue but believe it or not we do dock runs with over seas containers, warehouse deliveries, multidropping, European haulage aswell as moving people’s home and business. I feel like I have outgrown the firm and feel like I could work well working for myself. Obviously because of the driving not paying enough I don’t have a spare £30,000 to start up. Does anybody know if I was to do this and was to write up a business plan then I could gain this money through a business loan? I’m aware it’s expensive and I’m trying to weigh up costs. I have decided that I will rent a truck instead of buy one to start and am currently looking up at all the money I will need. So besides my question of can I do this with a bank loan? Is there anymore advice anyone could give me so I can take it on board? I’m a class1 license holder with 6 years experience. Mainly roadtrain experience but some articulated.

Hi Jbredda

I’m a bit groundhog day answering these, so may I suggest you look at past posts on this board going back at least a year and you may find your question has been answered already.

No. You couldn’t make it. Because you are too stupid to use the search function and find the near identical question asked a week or two back. Also you are too lazy to take a look through the Maritime subbies thread where we have covered a large part of this too.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

nsmith1180:
No. You couldn’t make it. Because you are too stupid to use the search function and find the near identical question asked a week or two back. Also you are too lazy to take a look through the Maritime subbies thread where we have covered a large part of this too.