UK/European van driving work

Hiya lads,
I’m looking for long distance UK/European van driving work. Ideally self employed (not owner driver) but cards in would be welcome.
I’ve 10 years experience delivering/collecting in 21 countries. I’m 53 years old with kids grown up so long stays away no problem. I’ve been out of the game for the past 3 years operating 40t articulated dump trucks but I really want to get back into the van driving. I’m based in Durham. If anyone knows anyone and they could let me know I would appreciate it.
Many thanks,
Carl.

its a shame you dont live further south, my managers brother has got a fleet of well specced sprinters and they go all over, i think he is based in gloucester, and my manager has this week got 2 renault masters with a sleeper pod delivered for doing euro. Big vern on here was doing euro in a van, not sure if he still is but he may be a better help

As far as i know, theres no restrictions on vans and the hours they can work…so a 19 hour day is about normal, with 40 winks in the passenger seat…correct me if i am wrong.

Thanks for the reply Rob,
I’ve worked for firms in the south before but it only worked because they kept me out for up to a month at a time which saved on travel time/costs. If your manager or his brother could keep me going until Xmas then for a couple of week at a time in the new year then I could do that. I understand not everyone has such work volume and some prefer more local drivers but If that would be of interest to them then please let me know. I appreciate your time.
Regards, Carl.

truckyboy:
As far as i know, theres no restrictions on vans and the hours they can work…so a 19 hour day is about normal, with 40 winks in the passenger seat…correct me if i am wrong.

Technically it’s British Domestic Hours. We do hotels - there’d be a riot if I tried to install sleeper pods!

I’ve slept across the seats many times, sometimes woken up by the gearstick tryin to get amorous !!! :slight_smile: