Social Anxiety Woes - dipping the toe in again

I’m currently on ESA benefit long term, now 2 years due to Social Anxiety/Avoidant personality disorder issues stretching back years. Have LGV C with all upto date CPC/Digi etc but never had real chance to use it. I also was a bus driver for 18 months in 2000 but again was unable to stay due to anxiety issues.
I get frustrated not being able to use my driving skills, as I’m a very confident driver. The problems manifest when I have to face co workers, deal with customers. It can take it out of me at times.
The rules of ESA allow me to try some work upto 15 hours a week without loss of benefits - it’s called Permitted Work. I’ve seen a weekend LGV C job with Driver Hire in Bristol and I’m keen on trying it. I’m 48 so well aware how agencies work so not holding out much hope or whether as the job even exists.

Anyone been in a similar situation and willing to offer any advice/tips?

Cheers

Why don’t you try a night trunking job especially on a weekend when some companies are struggling for drivers, with that kind of run you’ll earn a decent wage for one night and you’ll probably just do a trailer swap without even the possibility of actually meeting anyone.

Just a thought .

Think trunking is more C+E than C, but to the OP, all you can do is give it a go, I reckon one shift will be enough to let you know if you can hack it.

Harry Monk:
Think trunking is more C+E than C, but to the OP, all you can do is give it a go, I reckon one shift will be enough to let you know if you can hack it.

I did some class 2 night trunking years ago when I was a limper but you’re right more class 1 work about, the trouble with the 15 hr rule for the OP is he’ll only realistically be able to do one shift a week.

To the OP Bibby in Avonmouth do some class 2 trunking as do Wincanton on the Magnet contract.

metrorider: