Written assessment test help!

Hi all,

I’m pretty new to truck driving (been driving a bus for the last year) & have an assessment drive with a local firm tomorrow.

In the meantime I’ve been given a written assessment test (Fosters) & am a bit stuck on one of the questions, any help would be appreciated guys!!

A driver’s shift is as shown below:
Other Work- 15mins
Drive - 3hrs
POA -3hrs
Other Work- 45mins
Drive - 30mins
Other Work- 1hr

How long can the driver now drive before taking a break?

Firestarter:
A driver’s shift is as shown below:
Other Work- 15mins
Drive - 3hrs
POA -3hrs
Other Work- 45mins
Drive - 30mins
Other Work- 1hr

How long can the driver now drive before taking a break?

30 mins as he has to have a 15 min break for the RTD (WTD) - the max is 6 hours of driving and other work added together. POA (and any breaks) do not count.
The driver has had 2 hours of other work and 3 hours 30 mins of driving which makes a total of 5 hours 30 mins.

If they ask “What would be the best thing to do after the last 30 mins of driving?” then say - take a 45 min break as this will be at the 4 hour driving point (only 4.5 hours accumulated driving allowed before a 45 must be taken) and will more than suffice for the RTD (WTD)
It will then leave you clear for another 4.5 hours of driving.

If they ask “If you carry on driving for 30 mins after taking just the 15 min break, when will you next have to take a break and for how long?” then the answer is “A 30 min break after a further 30 mins of driving as I have now reached the accumulated 4.5 hour max driving limit”

Well I couldn’t have asked for a better answer, many thanks Rog- you’re a diamond!!

Just a little more advice if you don’t mind please…

Am I right here:
The definition of a “week” is from the end of a weekly rest period to the start of the next weekly rest period?

Another one (not many more honest!):

WTD: If you drive for 1hr & take 30mins break and then undertake the following.
other work- 2hrs