What would happen in your company?

Hi all this is my first post but been finding this site very useful since getting on the class 1’s.

Today my firm sent me to tip a load. To get to this warehouse I had to turn down three Narrow streets the first with parked cars either side with bollards on the corners (left turn), the second through a gate on the right both had buildings either side of the gate (right turn) the third was a lot easier but again with cars parked either side.

It took me around 30 minutes to travel less than 100 meters and I was mm from hitting cars, buildings and bollards throughout.

I am relatively new to the transport industry and wanted to know what your company does if you have an accident and actually cause damage to people’s property or vehicles?

Even though I didn’t hit anything it has knocked my confidence abit as I really struggled today.

dont let that knock your confidence mate it sounds like you dealt with a ■■■■■■ situation very well.

Instead of letting it knock your confidence John you should turn it round and use the fact that you did the job without hitting anything as a boost to your confidence! As a relatively new guy you did everything right imo, you took your time and didn’t cause any damage.

Asking what other companies do about damage is a bit like asking how long a piece of string is tbh. There are many, many variables such as how experienced you are, how tight the drop is, how often you cause damage, your attitude after hitting something. I could go on but I’m sure you get my drift.

I would urge you in future to maybe take some pictures to show your traffic office if you come across this situation again as driver Bloggs has told them that warehouse xyz is a right ■■■■■ to get into but that means nothing to the office unless the can see with their own eyes.

Don’t let it get you down fella, we all put up with stuff like this every day, kinda goes with the territory.

Good luck.