The Biggest Decision of My Life

Having passed my C+E test mid january at Bredbury, I’ve only just got my driving licence through yesterday and have set up a few appointments at agencies for the end of this week and I’ve been applying to an average of 2-3 jobs per day for the last week or so, the thing is…

…I have NO driving experience, i’m a graphic designer and have decided that to make a serious go of this I’m going to hand my notice in on Thursday in the hope that by the time my 4 weeks notice are done either (a) the agency work will be reasonably consistent or (b) someone will be happy to take me under their wing and give me a shot with their company.

Just a small point but financially I am in a position to support myself and my family for 8 weeks without any real problems, (after that it’s brown underwear time).

At this point I’m reasonably happy to take Class 2 but I don’t want to be doing it for too long as my main aim is Class 1.

I do have the brown underwear ready as I am frightened to death at what I am about to do, I have no idea if this is the right move or not but I have the feeling if I don’t do it, then next month I am going to face the same problem/dilemma (1-2 days driving at weekends, if I even get that) as no company is going to wait 4 weeks for an inexperienced driver to finish his notice, at least this way I’m hoping I can get a job offer and start pretty much as I leave (or shortly after) my current position.

Please guys (& gals) reassure me, tell me everythings gonna be alright…please (damnit) :confused:

The next two or three months is not an ideal time to be relying an agency work, especially for a new driver. Agency work can be notoriously quiet at this time of year.

I would second that, I would hold out with your current job while you apply for fulltime and/or get weekend work through agencies. Later in the year it is not such a problem, but the first quarter was looking very poor last year.

G