Satnav/greetings

Hello,

Having just become a member I thought i’d ask if anybody knows if the NAVMAN ICN320 only works on 12V.

I’ve just bought a dropper on ebay.

I have a feeling this may have been unnecessary. :confused:

I work as a regional relief driver for a large builders merchants in the midlands, covering about 20 of it’s branches.

I’ve come to the conclusion that SATNAV is handy, but in my line of work, maps (preferably Philips OS ones) are still needed. If I leave a yard with a full load containing 5 or 6 small deliveries, some prior knowledge is needed in order to ascertain the correct order of drops. Otherwise, i’d be up and down going from one end of a city/town to the other and back again 3 or 4 times on one load.

Just thought i’d share that!

I’ve been looking for a truck driving related forum for a long, long time.

First of all, welcome to TruckNet. :smiley: :smiley:

My Navman, an iCN 650, works on both 12 and 24 volts and there was another TruckNet member who emailed Navman and asked about 24 volts. They replied that yes it would work but it is best not to have it plugged in when starting the engine in case of a surge. I usually forget, and start with it plugged in and haven’t had a problem.

I have a 610,and used it today on a job I was doing,driving a 2546 Actros Mega Space,and had no problem starting the vehicle up when it was plugged in.

I also used it yesterday on a DAF CF 430,and again left it plugged in,and had no problem.

Ken.

I’ve got the iCN320 and it does specify 12v only in my paperwork/blurb :wink: I use a dropper with no problems, don’t have to worry about starting etc. Just make sure the dropper is wired to a permanent live, not ign’ live :wink:

skorpio:
I’ve got the iCN320 and it does specify 12v only in my paperwork/blurb :wink:

It says that for all the models but they still work in 24 volts. Most mobile phone chargers say 12 volts as well but they work in 24 as well.

Coffeeholic:

skorpio: