Realistic costs for owner drivers please!

Hi
Would be most grateful if anyone could give some realistic costs for running one truck (38-44 ton) on various work. Costs required are insurance, fuel, repairs and maintenece and any other costs involved. As I am just starting out will this affect insurance etc? Also wondering whether it is worth having a 44 tonner or if costs outweigh profits. Any help/advice much appreciated on this matter.
Just another question! Does anyone know anything about these schemes with hanbury davies/ maritime where you get the truck through them and also get guarenteed mileage/ work per week? These sound good to me for starting up so just wondering how it all works out…Thanks & all the best.

QAMAAMB.

Speedy:
QAMAAMB.

Did you miss us rob? :laughing:

:bulb: Ah HA! Now I get it! :laughing:

well thanks for those helpful replys !!! :frowning:

Hi Marky,
Have a look through this forum, 'cause pretty much everything you need to know has been covered at some point.

• Marky -:
    Costs required are insurance

This is a very personal thing, based on you, your circumstances, motor and work etc.

• Marky -:
    fuel .

Again, this will depend on how many miles you are looking to cover, what the motor will return and what loads your hauling.

• Marky -:
    repairs and maintenece and any other costs involved

If I could estimate these, I’d be a whole lot richer than I am now. :laughing:

• Marky -:
    As I am just starting out will this affect insurance etc?

Yes.

• Marky -:
    Also wondering whether it is worth having a 44 tonner or if costs outweigh profits.

That again, depends on what work you are intending to do, however the tri axle unit @ 44 tons will not only cost less to tax than a 4x2 @40 but also allows you more flexability, pays your money, takes your choice.

• Marky -: