My First European Trip (sort of)

Sorry there will be no Pics on this diary but hopefully I will manage to get some on my next trip.

Tuesday, midday, Phone rings and the voice on the other end says " get your gear and be down the yard ASAP".

Now as regular users of this forum know “I don’t do nights out”, but after a number of jobs doing local work and being bored out of my mind, I decided to go back to distance work. If I am going to do nights out I figure that doing European work is what I need. The problem is that I have no European experience and there are very few jobs going in this area for domestic work let alone European. I finally find a local firm that will “ease me in gently”, their work is mainly Germany, so that suits me fine. After a couple of weeks working in the UK the call came.

I am down the yard by 1 o clock and my ride for the trip is a Renault Magnum, but the problem is it as a gearbox problem which they are working on. Whilst they sort out the problem I stow my gear and sort a trailer. The trip is, load Oldham and Ramsgate and ship out to Holland to meet up with one of our drivers and do a trailer swap, probably in Venlo. To say I am chuffed is an understatement. By 1.30pm the gearbox is “sorted” so I am hooked up and on my way 10 minutes later. As I leave the yard I have trouble with getting 4th gear but put it down to my not having driven a Magnum before. However as I get further down the road it appears I cannot get 6th or 8th as well, so its back to the yard. The gearbox is [zb] came the reply so you will have to take the Volvo. The vehicle in question is an L Registered Volvo FH12 Low cab. Not wanting to miss out on the trip, I don’t argue and by 2.40 pm I am on my way again, I am supposed to be at the pickup by 4 pm but that is impossible now and the instructions are “do your best”.