Hello from a new bin jockey

I’m relatively new to the world of real lorries (currently driving a Dennis Phoenix, Elite 2) after 5 years driving 7.5t’s. Passed my C test in February, thanks to GTG Training in Edinburgh…3 minors for signals…but wish I’d found TruckNet before I started. There’d have probably been a lot less stress on my part. Looking forward to sharing my experiences and learning more new stuff.

Hi Pumpkin (does that sound odd? :blush: ) congrats on the great result,welcome to the board!

I’m pretty new myself,passed in March 2nd time lucky,no 7.5 experience before. Have you done your CPC yet or do you have Grandfathers rights? Looking at getting mine done,what were GTG like?

All the best

Adam

Thanks Adam. I had grandfather rights…passed my car test in the dim and distant past (1987). I didn’t choose GTG, was fortunate to be put through by my employer as they upgrade the fleet. Training was in a pretty new DAF (4 over 4 split box), 2:1 not sure if that’s standard or just the option my boss went with. I did 4 days plus test, other guy was doing 5 days plus a re-test but was a couple of days ahead of me so I had 1:1 on the Thursday afternoon and Friday morning! Think we covered EVERY test route from the Livingston test centre…went round way too many roundabouts lol.

Roundabouts and cyclists were not my friends,cyclists are still not my friends :imp:

I was lucky enough to have 1:1 when I trained,it was in a 01 Iveco Cargo that had been to the moon and back but still ran pretty sound once it warmed up! Even luckier on the morning of my re-test I had a pre run on one of the routes,then when it came to doing the practical,exact same route! How pleased was I :laughing:

Is your company going to put you through C+E as well?

adi:
Roundabouts and cyclists were not my friends,cyclists are still not my friends :imp: