Eye tests (applies to all HGV Drivers)

Our company has jhumped on the bandwagon partly as a response to This

We now have to have our eyes tested every 2 years at our expense :imp: :imp: :imp: .

I wonder why specsavers are keen to see this legislation to fruition.

According to your link it’s in this -
eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/Lex … 060:EN:PDF

It’s a PROPOSAL - look at this

(g) Category CE:
– without prejudice to the provisions of type-approval
rules for the vehicles concerned, combinations of vehicles
where the tractor vehicle is in category C and its
trailer or semi-trailer has a maximum authorised mass
of over 750 kg,
– the minimum age for categories C and CE is fixed at 21
years, without prejudice to the provisions for the driving
of such vehicles in Directive 2003/59/EC;

And that is now ‘out the window’

I thinks the new H&S director is kissing â– â– â–  at group HQ at our expense :imp: .

As an agency driver i have always done that anyway every 2 years. They can tell a lot more than if you can see that artic 2 feet in front of you. But i can see your point, if they want it done shouldnt they pay for it.

What they should tell the EU is the fact that a hgv driver has to undergo a strict medical including a strict eyesight test in order to maintain his licence. When a driver reaches the age of 65, his licence is issued on a yearly basis, and a medical and eye sight test ensue.