Exhaust brakes

Quick one for you… How will I know if the wagon I am driving has got an exhaust brake / retarder? I am very new to this game and am doing the agency thing. Have only driven a couple of ERFs ECT IIs so far and found myself scooting down the motorway at over 65 mph once or twice with brakes smoking on long downhill sections. Not good for the nerves !

Scania. Far left switch. Make sure it is ‘On’ unless icy.

Volvo. Two or three position switch immediately above gear knob. Leave in ‘Mid’ position for normal use.

Mercedes. Stalk on right of steering wheel. Normally selectable ‘1’ or ‘2’

ERF, foot valve on floor.

The variations are endless, and can only be determined by reading the manual. If only they were actually available. :unamused: :unamused: :unamused: :unamused:

One of my pet gripes, is that I can buy a mobile phone off Ebay, and then download a full manual from the manufacturers site. Yet, given a vehicle costing umpteen grand from new, once the operating manual has been lost/removed, the only course for replacement, is to purchase one. A situation not exactly conducive to the promoting of road safety and the protection of the road using public.

First suggestion - ask another driver at the client. They’ll probably be able to tell you.

Otherwise…

Scanias usually have an automatic exhaust brake which you switch on with a rocker switch on the panel to your left, and it engages when you press the brake pedal. I’ve also driven a Renault 7.5 t which also had the same setup.

MANs (and also probably ERFs since they’re pretty much the same thing nowadays) usually have a little button located on the floor underneath the steering column - basically, put your foot where it’s just about to go on the clutch, and the button is behind your heel.

I believe that some trucks also have a button/pedal somewhere in that area as well, but I’ve never found one.

Some trucks have them (or possibly retarders) on one of the stalks.