Breaks and moving vehicles

Hi i am new to this site. Glad i found it as it has a lot of great information and a very active forum. I have done a search and can’t seem to find an answer to this so i apologise in advance if this has been posted already. My question is this:

If i am on my tacho break (I use vehicles with digital tacho and other vehicles with analog) and someone asks me to move my vehicle for whatever reason (our yard is pretty small) do i have to start my tacho break from scratch again or is there a procedure i can follow or a way round it?

I THINK that you have to start your break again but I am no expert - Coffeeholic is your man for a difinitive answer :slight_smile:

Just realised that this is yout first post - Welcome to TrucknetUK :smiley: :smiley: :smiley:

PS. Coffeeholic usually shoots me when I have a go at answering these type of queries and get the answer wrong :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

Thanks for the reply hopefully someone will be able to give me the answer.

You wouldn’t necessarily have to start the complete break again but it would depend on how far into the break you are when you make the movement. Presuming you are in the process of taking a full 45-minute break and you have already completed at least 15 minutes you would only need to take another 30 minutes after the movement - split break option with first part at least 15 minutes and second part at least 30 minutes. Less than 15 minutes from the start of the break when you make the movement then yes, you would need to start the break from scratch.

Thanks for the response. Sorry i never gave more details in the example. I should have pointed out i would have driven 4 and a half hours and then i am on my 45min break and someone asks me to move the vehicle during this break. Would the split still be ok or would i have to start again because i have driven 4 and a half hours.