Aussie Driver wanting info

Hi Every1
Im an Aussie driver looking to come to England , I have an australian HC licence which is the equivalent to ur HGV (I think) it is for truck trailer combinations. I dont think i’ll have trouble working over there as i am a duel passport holder there British /Australia i was born in England. Just wondering about availability of work hourly pay or mile rate & any suggestions of best areas to work(i have relatives in the Bolton Lancs area. Still i have never been back to where i was born & would love to have a look + watch Bolton play.
Anyway any advice would be appreciated & yes i know what im getting myself into as i have 15 years experience local & longhaul.
Cheers wilkog015

sorry matey, once you exchange your licence with the DVLA they will only give you cat B licence, how do i know this?, my mums fella is dual nationality, Aussie & British, he was in RAF for 20 odd years had all licences even Tanker licence (was a refueller) and as soon as he came here and exchanged his licence, they just gave him a standard licence all he can drive upto is a van

you can give DVLA a call and see whats what, but i doubt you will be driving anything but a van over here.

Soz

This link should give you the DVLAs position on your Aussie licence.

Briefly, you need to pass a UK HGV test to drive anything bigger than a 7.5tonner.

I think you’ll be limited to 3.5 tonnes.

Welcome to TruckNet UK wilkog015 :smiley:

mrpj:
I think you’ll be limited to 3.5 tonnes.

and to think he may have been driving roadtrains down under

YOU WANNA LEAVE OZ…■■? :open_mouth: :open_mouth: to come here…■■ :confused: :confused: :bulb:
i tell you what we can do one of those exchange programs like in school
swap licences wifes :smiling_imp: ect,ect i will even get the xxxx in the fridge for ya… :wink:

Sounds like my experience in New South 40 odd years ago, Wilcog.