Aspiring driver

Hello …just joined.
I’m an aspiring driver planning to re-locate in the u.k. I have absolutely no knowledge of the British roadways. Will that hamper my chances of procuring employment? Or can I pict it up soon enough .
I haven’t even got a car licence yet, but plan to get it along with the Cat C and Cat C + E as soon as I get back to Britain next year.

Any tips guys?? Please help

Welcome to Trucknet :wink: :laughing:
You may be jumping he gun a little bit, but my advice to you is to hang around here and pick up any information you can and if you have any questions then feel free to ask.

Hi kaizad johnston welcome to
TruckNet UK and good luck :smiley:

Hello kaizad johnston. You will soon learn our major roads once you start using em a bit. Ive been driving commercial vehicles for a year now & still dont know where Im going half the time. :open_mouth: :laughing:

A sat nav system & a decent road atlas will see you on your way. Good luck with your car & truck lessons, stick at it. :slight_smile:

Thanks a lot for the inspiration guys. Will try to stick at it.
Can anyone tell me about the average hours you spend away from home in total. Are most of the jobs in the day or night?

Is the G.P.S. an excelllent device to get to places? do they mention truck stops and fuel stations etc.?

Also how do you manage your meals? Do you always find a truck stop on the road or do you miss meals at times if you don’t come across any food joint or stopping place?

kaizad johnston:
Is the G.P.S. an excelllent device to get to places? do they mention truck stops and fuel stations etc.?

Some will tell you no, some will swear by them.I think they work well alongside a decent map. Dont know about them showing truck stops, but yes you can see “points of interest” close to your location.