Anyone else having issues getting a job?

Hello everyone,

Im new to this fourm so i am sorry if this has already been posted.

I have been driving a PCV licence for the past 3 yrs and got the bug for driving large vehicles so decided to save and do my HGV licence. I now have a full Class 1 licence and i have put out in the region of 20 applications to companies small to very big and alot i knew had class 1 jobs and now everyone is saying sorry you have no experiance so i am ruled out of getting the job.
I put my own money and time into this and have got 3 yrs experiance driving a ridged vehicle that weighs 18 ton and drive with 100 peoples lives in my hands and yet im being told i have no experiance. I understand that a class 1 bends but i had to master PCV prety quick so im sure if i have put my time and money into it i am in the game for the long haul so to speak…

If anyone has any way i can get my foot in the door and drive artic lorries in kent then i would be so grateful and im sur emy wife would love me to stop getting frustrated and be happy, so im sure she would thank you too…

Thanks in advance

Rhys

All I can suggest is to keep on plugging away with sending out cvs to as many places as possible, and sign up with a few agencies. You might not get artic work straight away, so be prepared to do some rigid work to get yourself known within the agency. It’s tough to find work but there is work out there, you just have to keep on calling companies etc to get it

:confused: Put simply mate, and sorry to be the bearer of bad news, Those of us (myself included) with less than two years experience will be very lucky to get a foot in the door at the moment. Imho, for nearly all of us the best way is to drive for the agencies for a year or more but even that’s not as easy as it once was.

Apart from that, all you can do is knock lots of doors and send lots of letters etc. Best of luck though :wink:

Thanks for your comments,