Young female newbie advice

Hello!
First time on a forum and happy I found it. Passed my Class 1 in May.
I’ve never done a driving job before and currently applying for 2s and 1s but I’m just a little nervous…

Anyone (espec women) got any advice on what to go for/not to go for? I know it shouldn’t make a difference but I’m quite petit and equipment isn’t always perfect.

Also, as a general rule, do big companies (e.g. aldi) give good training to newbies to get to know the vehicle, how to load etc. Or should I start at an agency first to get range of experience?

Thanks in advance!
Scruff

If you can get fridge work it’s ■■■■ easy physically. The worst you’ll ever need to do with a load is wheel it to the back of the trailer with a pump truck for a waiting forklift. If you deliver to lidl or aldi it’s self tip but the pallet trucks are electric, and most places it’s just back on the bay and let the warehouse folks work their magic.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

If you’ve just passed I would go for some class 1 trunking stuff. Mostly depot to depot, so relatively easy with trailer swaps- occasionally tip. Some boxes some curtainsiders, an eclectic mix very often.

This will gain you lots of valuable experience. Store deliveries can be bloody awkward with dodgily parked vehicles in your way.

The only downside is a lot of trunking is nightshift stuff so you need to be okay with this. The other small issue is roads tend to be closed at night time so you’ll need to reckon on dealing with a few closures here and there.

The money is currently very good on night trunks. I’ve just turned down 16 quid an hour as a paltry offering. 20 quid plus is easily doable. This is agency stuff. If you’re after a full time job (and you’re likely to receive more training here, you’ll get zilch through agency as a rule) you’ll earn less but training will be much more likely. Well, if it’s a half decent company.