Another noob seeking advice

Hello everyone :slight_smile: I’m a recently qualified class 2 driver seeking advice on which agencies or firms to hit up in the Bucks/Berks area, that are willing to give a total noob with zero experience, a break.

I have absolutely no commercial driving experience, and am finding that even agencies are reluctant to take on anyone that doesn’t have at least 6 months of van, 3.5, or 7.5 experience.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Chef Direct in Didcot are usually looking for drivers, it’s hard work but the drivers I speak to seem happy enough.

01235 707600

Cheers, but that’s a bit too out of the way for me. Ideally I’m looking for something around the high wycombe and slough area. I did consider Bidvest,Chef direct and the like, but having a dodgy back from a herniated disc a few years ago and hearing the horror stories, put me off applying.

I’ll consider pretty much anything, and don’t wanna lmit myself, but I’ve gotta be careful and from what I’ve seen and heard, I probably wouldn’t last 5 mins.

I know I’m at the bottom of the barrel, and can’t afford to be picky, but is it possible to avoid those type of jobs, or should I just take what I can get and hopefully not destroy my back?

I’m keen to hear from anyone who’s in that line of work.

DingDing:
should I just take what I can get and hopefully not destroy my back?

Best of luck with that, as that may not be easy as a class 2 Newbie…

I can only speak from my experience on 2 days of food service before choosing pallet, and then seeing the light and getting a class 1.
So other than the advice of going class 1 if your back is bad, I’d still suggest pallets, as overall it’s more about working smarter and not harder.