Yabba Dabbah Dooooh - I'm on my way!

I did it !
I passed my class 2 this Saturday !!!

I still can’t quite belive it my self. I’m a lorry driver. Me ? Wow…
It’s a dream come through. I don’t know what to say really. I’m just so happy.

I was lucky, or call it stubborn. First I got NO from everybody at the jobcentre, there was no way they would help me financially getting my license. I even asked if I could get a loan and pay it all back when I got into a job. But NO,- here they’d rather see people on the list of unemployed. Then I got (zb) off and stubborn, ( as you do ), and I went on to the website for the National Assembly ( Welsh) and found out about a scheme called Work Based Learning for Addults under ETMA - Llanelli rural Council. Now with prints in hand I went back to the jobcentre and TOLD them to refer me to this scheme, because I now knew that I was indeed entittled to this. Much to their regret.
And so, the next week I had my interview and was put forward to training for the class 2. Fantastic !
The people at ETMA deserves a big applause. I’m so thankful for all their wonderful help and devoted guidance. And not to forget Crosshands Transport Training, I had a wonderful time training with them.
Everything have seemed so easy, I passed me theory test first time and my driving test first time with (only) 8 minors. Thanks to all the people standing behind me in this.

And it gets better.
Now that I have passed my class 2 ETMA can even help me get funded for the class 1. I have to enroll on a NVQ, Driving Goods Vehicles. It will last 3 months with ongoing assessments at my work place. Hopefully I will have this sorted out so i can start in January. I can’t wait. Getting my class 1 is the ultimate dream.

I don’t know if these training schemes are working in other councils around the UK. I hope this can help some of you fellow dreamers to find some financial help getting your license.

One happy, happy girl !!!

■■
jo