Doubts about learning by myself, and training pace

Hi,

I’m thinking about getting a class 2 lorry license, and I have a couple of questions about the training.

1. Is it possible to study by myself the theory parts, including the theory CPC part, and then go to a driving school to do the other practical parts to lower the total cost ? Also, I don’t want to be rushed by the school to sit the test before I’m ready. I got the official DVSA books and I’m studying at home at my own pace.

2. I work full time Mon to Fri 10h-18h. Can I take a couple of driving lessons a week until I complete 20 hours ? Or is it better to do it all together ? I could take one or two weeks annual leave at work to do the training if that’s the best way .

Thanks!

Hello and welcome to the forum.

1. Yes, this is how HGV training works, you study yourself at home and go in for the test once you feel like you are ready.

2. You want to be doing it all at the same time, HGV training doesn’t work like car training where you do 1 or 2 hours each week, it’s all done within one week then the test at the end.

There is places ( Peter Smythe Transport Training ) where you can train Saturday and Sunday and do the test on the Monday morning, or you could go to any training school you like and complete the full training and test in 3 to 4 days normally, some 5 days.

You’ll want to be completing all the theory stuff first though.

Good luck.

What the OP suggests is not daft, in normal times. In fact, that’s exactly how the industry used to work 35 - 40 years ago.

But, in these current times, there is a problem. Any responsible trainer will be thoroughly cleaning the vehicle when changing from one trainee to another. This takes time. So, dealing with 4 or 5 different trainees in a day is a non-starter IMO at the moment.

If the OP would like to indicate his location, I may be able to help.

Stay safe all, Pete :laughing: :laughing: