New pass checking in and saying hello!

Afternoon all,

Stumbled across this little gem of a site yesterday and decided to sign up, totally new to the industry having spent 20yrs in management in various industries, got made redundant in July and decided to change careers and here I am.

Passed class 2 in Dec and class 1 in Jan, just accepted a full time role yesterday tramping which I start training next week.

Will be interesting times ahead! lol

Anybody got any tips on what i need to take with me?

PASSING CE ARTIC.jpg
PASSING CE WD.jpg
LPLATE.jpg
PASSING FIREWORKS.gif

Not what to take with you as I’m not a trampers, but I’m a relatively new driver (2 years to the day since I passed C+E).

When you first go out there on your own you’ll be nervous as hell, I didn’t think I would be but boy was I wrong. Take your time, confidence will come later. As for reversing it is absolutely nothing like the driving test, you won’t be able to get the trailer where you want it so again take your time, if it takes 20 shunts then so be it.

Things I take with me: phone charger, inflatable pillow, road atlas, sat nav, book and tablet. I also have an emergency £50 in my bag in case on a very rare occasion I have to stop out. I also have a chamois for my mirrors, a bottle of water and a tupperware tub full of tablets/plasters/bandages.

Well done on the pass and good luck for the future!

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk

Well done on Passing. I’m in a very similar situation to you. I was laid off March last year after 20 years in Financial Services and while I wouldn’t say I have given up on that world I feel like it’s time for a change in career and life goals.

I start work on Monday and can’t wait to get going. The main points I have taken on from this forum and speaking to drivers I know are pretty much exactly as above…

1. Don’t rush ANYTHING. Rushing = Mistakes