Have C1 entitlement, toying with career change

Hi,
First time posting on here and hoping to get some advice and recommendations. First of all, i am 46, passed my driving test in 1990 and have C1 entitlement.

At the moment i work as a technician covering Berkshire, Hampshire and Oxfordshire. I’ll be honest i do enjoy the job but money could be better (couldn’t it always).

The thing i enjoy the most is the driving, and occasionally that involves hiring a larger vehicle (7.5 tonne) when equipment that will not fit into the transit needs to be delivered/collected.

I was having a conversation with a 7.5 tonne delivery driver i see frequently at one of the sites i visit regularly and i casually asked him about his job as it’s something that has always had my interest since i was young (i was saving when was in my early 20’s to do a HGV training course and become a driver but ended up meeting a girl, fell in love, marriage, kid etc.).
He basically collects his vehicle loaded from the depot at 6am and his day is done once everything is delivered (between 4 - 7 drops every day), some days he is done by 2pm, other days could be out until 7pm.
Anyway, it sounded like something i would not mind giving a try since am not getting any younger, plus more money would be nice (am on around £9.50/hr in current job).

From my understanding i will need to complete 35 hours of driver CPC as well as getting a tacho card (currently longest i spend driving is around 1 - 1.5 hours between jobs then am at least an hour on site).

Firstly, if i do decide to give it a try and sign up with agencies since i do not know anyone in the trade, would it be a good idea to stick with 7.5 tonne and below for now rather than paying for training to get C+E entitlement ? The plan being, save some money from driving smaller vehicles while finding out if i want to persue it further and then if i do enjoy it, go for the C+E license once i have some experience under my belt with a 7.5 tonne vehicle?