George Hammond Sittingbourne

I saw the comments on the Browns of New Ash Green page regarding George Hammond’s Seddon Atkinsons, and thought a thread should be started for Hammonds. Here is something from Truck magazine in 1994 abouth the new fleet of Iveco’s.

Does any one have any pictures or stories about this company?

As a resident of Sittingbourne i knew Hammonds very well. In fact i worked as a subbie for them for a while in 1989. Most of the work i did for them was plasterboard out of Knauf at Ridham, but also did other bits and pieces too. Here is a photo of a Seddon Atki driven by Brian Mills.

In 1994 Truck Magazine ran an article about the EuroTech after a year in service. They asked several companies for feedback, and George Hammond was one of them. Here is a picture taken by Truck of L212AKP, the numerically last of the first batch of EuroTechs Hammond bought.

I started work on hammonds in 1967 although it was still w.e.reeves at that time.they ran a mixed fleet of rigids and artics at the time.
i remember a four wheeled commer,a couple of dodges with the round cabs,2 tilt cab dodges,a couple of aec prior to the tilt cabs,and several tilt cab aec’s both 4&6 wheelers.there were also a couple of old type aec tractor units the rest being tilt cab aec’s including some v8 aec’s later on they purchased 2 6wheeled atkinsons units and 2 scania110 4 wheeled units.they also bought out blythe bros.which gave them a couple more atki.units and a maggie deutz unit.later on they started to change the fleet to all atkis and sed akti’s.most of the work done then was from dover and sheerness docks and the paper mills in sittingbourne and kemsley.we did do a bit out of metal box in strood.the trls we used were 26ft s/a trls.30ft tandems 35ft tandems with the axles right on the rear end they wanted as much room as a 40ft.trl to move about and 40ft spread axles.later on they purchased 6 skelly trls some 36ft trls and 40ft.trls with normal axles.