M.A.N.

I had our first M.A.N. it was a 1983 240 with a 6 speed ZF splitter box a Y registration iirc, it was a bit unusual in that the lower gears were by the driver and you worked your way towards the passenger side for the higher gears.
I had it for about 4yrs and it never put a foot wrong and on the strength of that we bought 4 new 291’s with the Eaton Twin Splitter and what a great motor they were, they pulled really well, were easy to drive and were reliable, the Drivers loved them.
When we packed up in 1990 most of the Tipper firms had M.A.N.'s they were everywhere, reading a few posts on here it seems that they fell out of bed.
What happened to M.A.N. for them to fall out of favour the way they did.
I remember seeing a few Hino’s about, now it seems all Scania…

RJ

Well, like yourself, when I was driving tippers for a living 18+ years ago MAN eightwheelers were everywhere on muckshifting and quarry work, Slinter Mining at Cromford and Leedale Plant had nothing else but MAN’s, as did a few OD’s on similar work. However now Slinter buy Scania’s when the MAN’s come up for replacement so something has obviously changed, but just what I do not know? I would be interested to find the reason though!

Actually, thinking back, there were many local firms that ran them, having a dealer at Kilburn (Kniftons) helped I suppose? Bill Wood, Bill Mountain, Tony Doxey, Alan Shimwell, Longcliffe Quarries, Don Fox, John Upton, George Wright and many more operated them in both eight and six and four wheeler form.

Pete.

windrush:
Well, like yourself, when I was driving tippers for a living 18+ years ago MAN eightwheelers were everywhere on muckshifting and quarry work, Slinter Mining at Cromford and Leedale Plant had nothing else but MAN’s, as did a few OD’s on similar work. However now Slinter buy Scania’s when the MAN’s come up for replacement so something has obviously changed, but just what I do not know? I would be interested to find the reason though!