Microwave oven install

Hello. I’m starting a new tramping job next week and the one thing I’d like is a microwave oven. After my induction I’ll be in the same 18t truck each week. I’ve been tramping on and off for almost 2 years but never been assigned the same vehicle. I don’t want to rely on fast food or sandwiches anymore. Any help is really appreciated in terms of installing one assuming my new employer is fine with it (I’ve only met him once but he seems a very calm and reasonable person). If they are fine with it, I’d like to heat up nice food to consume. All advice appreciated

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Firstly, congrats on the new job and I hope it goes well.

As an operator, I would prefer to install the likes of microwaves in the workshop. If you do it yourself and something later goes wrong, it will cause bad feeling at best. So maybe smile sweetly and see what can be done. It’s not unreasonable and you say he seems ok.

Pete S :laughing: :laughing:

Thanks Pete. They have their own workshop on-site so once I’m established I’ll bring it up with the TM. I’ve seen the truck but not been inside. Assuming there is space for one I’d like it. There’s only so much fast food or sandwiches I can take. Given the current situation options are limited so if I could have a lo-cal ping meal it’d be an nice alternative.

I wish micro waves were around when I was driving! Must make life so much better and cheaper. Actually, a bit of progress that really works!

Take care, Pete :laughing: :laughing:

You might have a bit more luck with replies on the main forum. At least drivers could tell you what inverter they have and how easy it was to install. The inverters aren’t particularly cheap and I think you need a pure sine one or something like that for the microwave to work properly. I wouldn’t know where to start routing the cables from the battery to wherever you are putting the microwave. The inverter will need somewhere too I guess.

Noremac: