Driver conduct hearing (mobile)(in private car)(advice)

Hey all. Well back in early March I got caught looking at my phone for like 10 seconds in stand still traffic. I got 6 points and a £200 fine

Now though I have just been posted a letter saying that I am too attend a driver conduct hearing on the 26th July with the traffic commisioner. This is because I am a PCV driver.

Though please note the offence was made in my private car not on a bus.

This is my first offence of any kind in 13 plus years of driving.

Being honest, I am worried sick and would like to know what people who have been through one of these got.

I absolutely love my job and don’t want to loose it. I know I messed up and have no excuses but I would greatly appreciate any advice and to what other people have been through.

Like I said before the offence was in my private car and not at the workplace.

Thanks in advance for any advice

Cant offer any advice on the incident except to say it will more then likely come to nothing if you were not driving a bus or hgv at the time.

I was sitting at lights and moved my phone from the dashboard to the centre console and when the lights changed I got a pull for “using a hand held device”.
I went to court as I felt very hard done by given I wasnt moving, the handbrake was on and it was more unsafe to leave the phone sliding about when driving.
The report the copper had submitted made me sound like I was going to kill someone if she hadnt stopped me. I ended up with 3 points and a £140. Still feel sick about it to this day.
I feel your pain and you have my sympathy

Some of these prats are beyond the pale. I’ve never touched a mobile while driving… honest, but to be moving it from the dash to the console…well. No common sense prevailing nowadays.

Just say the phone was on your lap

dailymail.co.uk/news/article … --lap.html

Well, it works if you are a policewoman.